Congratulations Wrestlers!

The TVRA wrestling championships have come to a close, and it’s been an outstanding season for all athletes, teams, and coaches involved. Congratulations to everyone who participated in the event and contributed to making it a success.

Two standout athletes in the Charrette division were awarded the Bill Salter MVPs for their outstanding performances. Ivey Ludwig from Central Elgin and Chris McIntosh from Saunders were recognized for their remarkable achievements on the mat.

In the Michienzi division, the Montcalm boys’ team emerged as champions, showing their mettle and grit throughout the tournament.

This year’s TVRA wrestling championships saw an impressive number of participants, with 269 wrestlers competing in the Charrette and Michienzi divisions. Of these, 40 female wrestlers and 91 male wrestlers competed in Charrette, while 42 female wrestlers and 96 male wrestlers competed in Michienzi.

It’s worth noting that this year’s tournament saw a significant increase in participation compared to the pre-covid year of 2020. The Charrette division had 131 wrestlers, and Michienzi had 138, bringing the total number of wrestlers to 269, compared to 258 in 2020.

It’s fantastic to see the sport of wrestling growing and thriving despite the challenges of the past year. Once again, congratulations to all who participated, and we look forward to seeing what the future holds for TVRA wrestling.

Many thanks to the outstanding coaches and a huge thank you to Andrew Holmes, our TVRA Wrestling Convenor. Thank you again to site convenors as well!

Posted by mlange