TVDSB presents first ever Mr. and Ms. Soccer Awards

Ray Robbins of Clarke Road and Jackie Fleming of Central were named as the inaugural winners of the TVDSB Central Mr. and Ms. Soccer awards at the conclusion of the soccer season.

Ray was nominated by his coaches as a player who is not only a great athlete, but truly an outstanding student. He was an excellent leader and a perfect role model for his team. Clarke Road won the TVDSB and WOSSAA championships and participated in the OFSAA championships in Kingston.

Jackie was nominated for this award as an amazing team leader who showed genuine concern for her team mates. She was a team captain who always represented her school with class and respect.TVDSB MrMs Soccer


Boys Basketball celebrates the season with All Star game

All participants had a great time at the boys basketball all-star game held last week. The student athletes were amazing ! They played well, played hard and represented their schools with the utmost class. Thank you again to the referees of the LBBO for volunteering their time. Thank you to our DJ, Ryan Higgins, who did a fantastic job with the music the entire night. We also had a number of students from Beal volunteering their time to help make the night run smoothly. The venue was perfect and the halftime show was well done. Thank you to Jamie Clark, Ian McConnell and Richard Mommersteeg respectively for their efforts. It was also really special that Denise Pelley (Jason Edmonds’ Mum) sang the National Anthem. She did a beautiful job. Members of Shaun Lodge’s family were also on hand. All in all, a fun night thanks to so many contributions from so many people. TVRA’s major basketball awards were also presented. Josh Dinh from Beal and Vicent Carriere from JPII were presented with the Ted Earley Award (outstanding graduating year 4 player with a focus on academics, sportsmanship and community service). The Mr. Basketball Award (outstanding player) was also presented to Hadi Akle of Beal and Jake Price from JPII. Congratulations to all of the nominees of these prestigious awards.

Boys Basketball All Star Program 2016


Girl’s Basketball Fran Wigston award winners

Natalie Martinez of Westminster, Sarah Couthard of St. Thomas Aquinas and Megan Silverthorn of Parkside are this years winners of the Fran Wigston Award. The prestigious award is given annually to the outstanding graduating senior basketball player from each conference in TVRA.Fran Wigston Basketball winners


TVDSB holds Central Girls’ Volleyball Championships at Fanshawe College

The TVDSB Central Girls’ Volleyball Championships celebrated a great night of incredible volleyball at Fanshawe College. The Senior championships were won by Oakridge who defeated Saunders 3-1 in AAA, South, who defeated Montcalm 3-1 in AA action and Westminster, who won 3 sets to 1 over North Middlesex. Oakridge won the AAA Junior championship, defeating Saunders 3-0. South was victorious in Junior AA, winning 3-1 over Montcalm, while Westminster won the junior A crown defeating North Middlesex by the score of 3 sets to 1.

Jessica Venhuizen of Oakridge was also recognized as the Therese Quigley Ms Volleyball Award winner. This award is given to the top graduating volleyball player in each conference of TVRA.

TVDSB Ms Volleyball


STA defends LDA Boys’ Hockey title

The Flames are LDA and WOSSAA Boys Hockey Champions for the second year in a row after defeating the SAB Bulldogs in overtime in game 2 of the LDA final at Thompson Arena. STA won the WOSSAA title, defeating the South Lions, the defending back to back A/AA provincial champion. The Flames now travel to Ottawa to participate in the OFSAA Championships.

STA Boys Hockey Team


Medway wins their first ever TVDSB Central Boys’ Hockey Championship

The Medway Cowboys defeated the Oakridge Oaks in a very well played TVDSB Hockey final, 2 games to 1. The Cowboys defeated the Oaks 4-1 in a very entertaining final game at Thompson Arena. The teams had to play each other once again in the WOSSAA final three days later. The Cowboys now move on to the OFSAA Championships in Windsor.

Medway Boys Hockey


LDA – TVDSB Central Basketball finals at Bud Gardens

TVRA is pleased to announce the partnership with The London Lightning, Tourism London and Budweiser Gardens in hosting the 2015-16 Sr Boys’ Basketball Finals on Thursday, Feb 18. Read more for the press release and schedule. The high school games will precede the London Lightning and Windsor Express regular season game. Admission to the high school games is $5 purchased at the box office. Media Release – Sr Boys Basketball Championships


LDA and TVDSB Central Volleyball Finals to be held at Fanshawe College

The Girls’ TVDSB Central Volleyball finals will be held at Fanshawe College on Friday, February 19 followed by the LDA finals on Tuesday, February 23. TVRA is excited to partner with the Fanshawe Athletic Department in hosting these events. Admission is $5. Children under 12 are free. Read more to see the game schedule.

Fanshawe tvdsb-lda volleyball schedule


TVRA Mr. Volleyball Awards presented at All Star Game

The Boys Volleyball season ended with an outstanding evening of volleyball. Teams were composed of players from all three conferences in TVRA. A huge thank you to John Paul II for hosting this event and to our guest coaches, former National team players Paul Duerden and Steve Brinkman. TVRA would also like to congratulate all nominees of this years Mr. Volleyball Award. The following were nominated by their teams: The Mr Volleyball nominees from Thames Valley South East are: Central Elgin – Brody Bell, West Elgin – Robert Carter, Parkside – Nick Tales, Ingersoll DCI – Robbie ZalewskiWINNER The Mr. Volleyball nominees from London District Association are: John Paul II – Vincent Carriere, St. Marys – Nick Billham, St. Andrew Bessette – Jaydon McCoy – WINNER       The Mr. Volleyball nominees from Thames Valley Central are: South – Matt Castle, Medway – Nick Cook, Montcalm – Mike Cunnington, Oakridge – David Doty – WINNER, Laurier – Kyle Estaris, Lucas – Jacky Liu, North Middlesex – David Noel, Saunders – Tyler Roberts

Mr Volleyball Winners

Ingersoll DCI – Robbie Zalewski

St. Andrew Bessette – Jaydon McCoy

Oakridge – David Doty